Photobucket

snapshot_d2673225_d2d77fc9

When Emmy returned later that day for the party, Eliza could tell she hadn't uncovered much in her research. So much had happened already, but it seemed the oddities weren't over yet.

snapshot_d2673225_d2d77ff5

As Eliza and Emmy stood talking on the sidewalk, a young man walked past.

Except, he certainly wasn't your ordinary teenager.

snapshot_d2673225_d2d7800b

"That boy..." said Emmy.

"I know," said Eliza.

"He's green!" The two women said this simultaneously, and stood looking at each other, trying to figure out how a person could turn their own skin green.

snapshot_d2673225_b2d77f62

"I don't understand," said Eliza.

"Nor do I, dear," said Emmy. "There have been rumors of little green men living in Strangetown for several years now, but I've never actually seen one!"

"...until now," said Eliza.

"Until now."

"What's going on, Emmy?" said Eliza.

"I don't know, dear, I don't know. But, the coincidences are stacking up...and you know I don't believe in coincidence. It appears your curse, and perhaps much more, is tied up in this woman."

"Bella Goth," said Eliza.

"Yes," said Emmy.

"Well, it will have to wait," said Eliza. "Maria's ready for us."

snapshot_d2673225_b2d78241

The two women put bright smiles on thier faces to cover any worry that might show and walked over to where Maria stood waiting. As the group watched, Maria took her spin into the next phase of life -- from child to teen.

snapshot_d2673225_52d7824d

Maria was growing into a beautiful young woman, like all of the DiPotere women before her. She was good at everything -- school, athletics, art. In so many ways, Maria would make the perfect heir to my legacy, thought Eliza as she watched her youngest daughter transition.

snapshot_d2673225_32d7827b

Once all of the hugs and congradulations were done, it was Mirabella who spoke up.

"This is a great day," she began. "On this day, my baby sister is on her way to womanhood. And for my gift, I have decided to show you, Maria, all of the secrets I have learned on being a teen. We will begin, with your make-over."

snapshot_d2673225_12d9e110

Eliza and Emmy looked at each other and smiled as Maria squealed with excitement. The DiPotere girls ran into the house, and Darryl went off to work, leaving Eliza and Emmy alone to discuss the day's events.

They soaked in Eliza's hot tub and stared at the flat white sky of Strangetown.

"You know," said Eliza. "I don't think I'll ever get used to how white the sky is here."

"It wasn't always," said Emmy. "It used to be blue, I hear, and the grass was greener than..."

"Grass?" said Eliza. "There's no grass in Strangetown...not one single blade for all I've seen."

"I know, but the old-timers said it used to be a beautiful place, and no one knows what happened."

snapshot_d2673225_f2d786c3

Just then, the girls emerged from the DiPotere house. Maria stood shyly behind her proud and doting sister.

"May I present to you...."

My beautiful sister Maria!

Mirabella had done a wonderful job, and the women thought Maria couldn't have looked more lovely. As Eliza stood watching the two girls together, she suddenly knew who would be heir to the DiPotere Legacy.

She turned to Emmy and whispered, "It is Mirabella. She is the one."

Emmy smiled. Eliza had finally chosen. "It is decided, then."

As the women turned back toward the girls, their mouths fell open.

snapshot_d2673225_f2d9e69e

Night was approaching, but unlike any other night the women had experienced in Strangetown, tonight a dark blue was seeping through the sky.

snapshot_d2673225_d2d9e160

"What is everyone looking at?" said Maria. "I know I smell bad, but I haven't had time for a shower today!"

"It's not that," said Emmy. "Turn around."

snapshot_d2673225_b2d9e158

"The sky is blue!" Maria said.

"So it would seem," said Eliza.

The women stood staring at the great blue sky above their heads for a long time. It was Maria who broke the silence. "I have got to shower."

Everyone laughed, and as Maria left for the house, Eliza took a moment to tell Mirabella she had named her the heir.

snapshot_d2673225_f2d9e65c

snapshot_d2673225_f2d9e258

"Oh Mom! Thank you! I was so afraid you would pick Maria. She's so good at everything."

"Not everything," said Eliza. "Tonight I saw you take care of your family...I realized how important this family is to you. That is what the heir needs, and what Maria lacks -- total dedication to family."

"I'll make you proud, Mom, I promise.

snapshot_d2673225_f2d9e68c

There were more hugs all around, and then Mirabella said her goodnight, leaving the two elder women alone in their thoughts, staring at the blue sky.

snapshot_d2673225_12d9e236

~*~

Put your here...

~*~

~*~

previous page - next page

The Legacy

MAIN Page

Table of Contents

Or skip to...

Eliza's Story

Mirabella's Story

A Letter from Maria

Bianca's Story

Life in Strangetown: My alternate DiPotere blog, where you can find all the background scoop on the characters. May contain spoilers!

Sims Groups

The Mess Hall: I'm a moderator here at this fabulous forum. Come check it out!

Sims Supernova: A group run by two awesome simmers!

TS2 Legacy Yahoo Group: Fun group of Legacy Simmers

Sims Blogs I'm Loving

The Wintersmiths

The Genius Family

Ugly Sim Kids

Deception Pass

Isle of Thyme

Other Links

GIMP: Like Photoshop, but FREE!

hosted by DiaryLand.com