Photobucket

Chapter Thirty-Seven: Fire in the House

37_1_png

Later that night as Miss Emmy walked into the kitchen to help with the party clean up, Bailey howled.

"What is it, Bailey?" Miss Emmy asked. "What do you see?" Emmy looked around fervently, but saw nothing. Still, Bailey howled. Bright red, like a flash, lit up the room.

37_2

Miss Emmy turned to see the source of the light. Almost immediately, she felt the heat spontaneously erupt beneath her feet. "Fire!" she screamed, and tried in vain to stomp it out. Emmy watched in horror as the flames crawled higher.

37_3

The flames grew fast as lightning, and had soon all but surrounded Emmy. She began to feel dizzy, drowsy, weak,as the heat warmed her. The heat was not blazing...it was a seductive comfort. "Here..." it seemed to call out, "Come rest with me here a while." Emmy felt herself slipping, pulled by the power of the fire's spell.

As if in a dream, Emmy heard the footfalls and yelling. "In here!" the voice said. "This way, this way! I'll get water!" Then a mist, as light as the heavens must be, fell around Miss Emmy.

37_4

She struggled to breathe as the mist filled her lungs. "Slowly," Joel was saying. "Breathe slowly. Dear God, I thought we lost you."

37_5

Behind her, the firefighter grunted. "Be more careful next time," he said as he walked out the door.

"What was that, Emmy?" Joel asked once the fireman was out of ear shot. "How on Earth did you catch on fire?"

"I don't really know, Joel." siad Miss Emmy. "But thank you. You saved my life."

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

37_6

Emmy relaxed herself with a long bubble bath and, once she was cleaned up and feeling better, returned to the kitchen to ponder her seemingly spontaneous combustion. She found Bianca already there, making some late night mac and cheese.

"Oh, hello dear. You missed my fireworks earlier," Emmy said with a laugh.

Bianca simply sighed.

37_8

"It really was the strangest thing," Emmy continued. "I can't seem to work out what happened."

Bianca grunted.

"You know that mac and cheese looks good. I think I'll make some espresso to go with it, if you don't mind."

Finally, Bianca broke. "How can you stand here talking about coffee when you nearly burned to death! You...ugh! You and Joel both. You think this macaroni is for me? How could I eat? I almost lost two of the people I love the most in all of the world. The food is for Joel. He's hungry after his adventures. Ugh!

37_9

Miss Emmy's smile faded as she worked the espresso. "This is my job, Bianca," she said calmly taking a cup of black liquid from the machine. "And I think you've forgotten...it's your destiny too. We speak lightly of dark matters so that they do not consume us, who we are."

Bianca stood with her back to Miss Emmy. She could not face the woman who had done so much for her, and her children. "I don't want this life," Bianca said. "This year...this year has been the calmest and happiest of my life, with Joel and the girls. And now, this..."

"You mean me," Emmy said, still facing the espresso maker. "I come back and start it up again, is what you think." Bianca stood silent.

37_10

After a moment of quiet tension Bianca jumped at the sound of a coffe cup being slammed to the counter, and hung her head as she felt Miss Emmy leave the room.

~*~

Put your here...

~*~

~*~

previous page - next page

The Legacy

MAIN Page

Table of Contents

Or skip to...

Eliza's Story

Mirabella's Story

A Letter from Maria

Bianca's Story

Life in Strangetown: My alternate DiPotere blog, where you can find all the background scoop on the characters. May contain spoilers!

Sims Groups

The Mess Hall: I'm a moderator here at this fabulous forum. Come check it out!

Sims Supernova: A group run by two awesome simmers!

TS2 Legacy Yahoo Group: Fun group of Legacy Simmers

Sims Blogs I'm Loving

The Wintersmiths

The Genius Family

Ugly Sim Kids

Deception Pass

Isle of Thyme

Other Links

GIMP: Like Photoshop, but FREE!

hosted by DiaryLand.com