Photobucket

Chapter Thirty: Telephonic

snapshot_d2673225_74092ce7

The next day, Maria woke in a panic. Where was she? Where was Emmy? It was all a trick, she knew. Some sort of evil trick Bella had played. Maria flung herself out of bed and looked around the empty room.

snapshot_d2673225_74164447

"Emmy," she cried. "Emmy help!"

From the bathroom came the sound of splashing water, and soon Miss Emmy's drenched head poked out of the bathroom door. "What is it?" she asked.

Maria breathed a sigh of relief. "I...I was just worried. You weren't here, and I thought...I thought I'd dreamt it all, or..."

"Oh, Maria," said Emmy. "Hold on, I'll be out in a minute.

snapshot_d2673225_941644e8

When Emmy emerged, dressed and ready for the day, the first thing she did was give Maria a big hug. "It's okay, dear. You've been through a lot. But you're looking so much better today, really," she said. And she meant it. There was a clarity to Maria's eyes that hadn't been present the day before, and the sores on Maria's lips were healing nicely, thanks to Emmy's powerful herbal remedies. "Why don't you go have a bath, dear, and I'll make us something to eat.

snapshot_d2673225_541645bf

While Emmy prepared a pot of chili, Maria cleaned herself up. Dressing in the comfortable t-shirt and jeans Miss Emmy had provided, she began to feel more like herself...something she hadn't felt in a long time. She hummed quietly to herself as she fixed her hair. As the humming drifted out to the kitchen, Emmy smiled.

snapshot_d2673225_341648a6

Maria was still humming when she emerged from the bathroom. She playfully scooped Jupiter up from the floor and buried her nose deep into the cat's soft fur. "How is it that cats smell so good," she said to Emmy, "when all they do is roll around all day in the dirt?"

"I don't know dear," said Emmy, laughing, "but I do know lunch is ready."

Maria was just about to sit down when her phone rang.

snapshot_d2673225_14164a29

"Hello?"

"Mariiiiiaaaaa..." came the voice on the other end.

"Who is this?"

"You know who it is, Maria, you little brat. You think I won't find you?"

Maria felt the rage bubble up inside her. "No, Bella, you won't find me. I'm gone from you forever. Your evil can't touch me here. Now leave me alone!"

snapshot_d2673225_74164a20

"No, Maria," came the voice on the phone, "that's where you're wrong. That pathetic old woman can't protect you in her little shack. You escaped me once, Maria. You won't escape again."

"Shows what you know, I'm not even with the fortuneteller. I'm gone for good, Bella." Miss Emmy looked up sharply at these words.

"No, Maria, you musn't lie!"

snapshot_d2673225_74164a5d

But it was too late. An evil laugh bubbled through the phone receiver. "Ha! You stupid girl! You are evil, Maria, stop fighting it. I'll come for you soon. Don't underestimate me, Maria. You look so surprised, standing there in the shack. Oh, and tell Emmy to get herself some new clothes. She's had that striped sweater for decades."

A click and the line was dead.

"She saw me," said Maria. "She knew where I was."

snapshot_d2673225_b4164b86

Emmy sighed as she got up to wash her dishes. "Maria, you have so much to learn. Much of that is my fault, I know. I should have been here to teach you. But..." Emmy sighed again, long and deep, and continued. "But I wasn't. I am now, though, and your first lesson is never to lie, particularly where evil is involved."

"Now is not really the time for lessons, Miss Emmy," shrieked Maria. "She knows where I am...She's coming for me!"

"Maria, calm down. Lessons are all we have now. You must learn these things, to protect yourself."

"How can I calm down! I finally know the truth. I don't want to be evil, Emmy, I don't want her to find me..."

snapshot_d2673225_b4164c15

Maria sobbed huge heaving gasps of air that left her shaking and breathless. Tears rolled down her cheeks as she fell to the floor. "I don't...I can't..." Maria choked on her words as Emmy looked on in agony. Emmy knew this was Maria's battle. She waited, and watched, until Maria's tears had dried.

As Miss Emmy helped Maria up off the floor she stroked the young woman's hair. "You are stronger than you think, Maria."

"I don't feel strong."

"That's because life and Bella's evil have drained you. But you can get it back, I promise."

snapshot_d2673225_f4164c70

"You had to come to this point, dear," continued Emmy. "You had to go through this. Now the real healing can begin."

~*~

Put your here...

~*~

~*~

previous page - next page

The Legacy

MAIN Page

Table of Contents

Or skip to...

Eliza's Story

Mirabella's Story

A Letter from Maria

Bianca's Story

Life in Strangetown: My alternate DiPotere blog, where you can find all the background scoop on the characters. May contain spoilers!

Sims Groups

The Mess Hall: I'm a moderator here at this fabulous forum. Come check it out!

Sims Supernova: A group run by two awesome simmers!

TS2 Legacy Yahoo Group: Fun group of Legacy Simmers

Sims Blogs I'm Loving

The Wintersmiths

The Genius Family

Ugly Sim Kids

Deception Pass

Isle of Thyme

Other Links

GIMP: Like Photoshop, but FREE!

hosted by DiaryLand.com